LSUA is set just seven miles south of Alexandria, Louisiana in the heart of the state.  There are numerous activities to do both on-campus and off.  There are museums, nightlife, outdoor events, golf and more.

 

Check out the list to the right of all the fun things there are to do on campus and in central Louisiana.

On Campus:

 

• Epps House: Solomon Northup's Gateway to Freedom

• Richard Gwartney Theatre

• Fitness Center

• Walking path

• Golf Course

 

Downtown Cultural District:

• Alexandria Museum of Art  http://www.themuseum.org

 

• TREE House Children's Museum  http://www.kidtreehouse.org

 

• River Oaks Square Art Center  http://www.riveroaksartscenter.com

 

• Arna Bontemps African American Museum  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arna-Bontemps-African-American-Museum/238455076195315

 

• Louisiana History Museum http://louisianahistorymuseum.org

 

• Coughlin Saunders Performing Arts Center  http://www.louisiana-arts.org/arts-venues.php

 

• Hearn Stage Kress Theatre  http://www.louisiana-arts.org/arts-venues.php

 

• Rapides Symphony Orchestra  http://www.rapidessymphony.org

 

• City Park Players Community Theater  http://www.cityparkplayers.com

 

• Spectral Sisters Production  http://www.spectralsisters.com

 

Alexandria/Pineville

• Kent House Plantation  www.kenthouse.org

 

• Forts Buhlow and Randolph State Historic Sites  http://www.crt.state.la.us/louisiana-state-parks/historic-sites/forts-randolph-buhlow-state-historic-site/index

 

• Alexandria Zoological Park  http://www.thealexandriazoo.com

 

• Bringhurst Golf Course https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bringhurst-Golf-Course-Oldest-Par-3-Golf-Course-in-America-Alexandria-La/102740759811594

 

• OakWing Golf Club  http://www.oakwinggolf.com

 

• Links on the Bayou Golf Course  http://www.linksonthebayou.com

 

• Four Seasons Bowling Center  http://fourseasonsbowlingcenter.com

 

• Gone Wild Safari  http://gonewildsafari.com

 

• Tioga Heritage Park and Museum

 

 

Central Louisiana Region

• Southern Forest Heritage Museum  http://www.forestheritagemuseum.org

 

• Kisatchie National Forest http://www.fs.usda.gov/kisatchie/

        • Kincaid Lake Recreation Area

        • Valentine Lake Recreation Area

        • Stuart Lake Recreation Area

        • Wild Azalea Trail, Lakeshore Trail, etc.

        • Claiborne Multi Use Trails

        • Long Leaf Vista

        • Kisatchie Bayou Recreation Area

        • Caroline Doorman Trail, Backbone Trail

        •Sandstone Multi Use Trail

 

• Alexander State Forest & Indian Creek Recreation Area  http://www.ldaf.state.la.us/portal/Offices/Forestry/AlexanderStateForestIndianCreekRecreationA/tabid/237/Default.aspx

 

• Booker Fowler Fish Hatchery  http://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/booker-fowler-fish-hatchery

 

• Chicot State Park  http://www.crt.state.la.us/louisiana-state-parks/parks/chicot-state-park/

 

• Louisiana State Arboretum  http://www.crt.state.la.us/louisiana-state-parks/parks/louisiana-state-arboretum-state-preservation-area/index

 

• Hodges Gardens  http://www.hodgesgardens.net

 

• Paragon Casino  http://www.paragoncasinoresort.com/Home.aspx

        • Music - Mari Center Showroom and Pelican Stage

        • Spa, golf course, cinema and arcade

 

• Tunica-Biloxi Tribal Museum and Cultural Resources Center  http://www.tunicabiloxi.org

 

• Fox Theatre

 

• Waterways for fishing/boating

        • Cotile Lake

        • Lake Vernon

        • Cane River Lake

        • Lake Buhlow

        • Red River

        • Toledo Bend

        • Catahoula

 

• Canoeing  http://www.allenparish.com/canoeing.htm